Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2007, 12:25 PM   #1

Talk me off of the ledge...

So after much hum-hawing I decided that I should have bought the Pentax K100D with Shake Reduction. Most of my shots were done indoors with less than perfect lighting and in some instances the SR would have helped. I was able to return the K110D at the camera shop for a full refund (very nice of them) and am looking where to go next. Beach Camera has the K100D for $485 (with $50 rebate subtracted). But... I was on PriceGrabber and saw the Sony A100 going for $644 at a reputable merchant.

My question is this, I am not a pro nor I play one on TV. However, doesn't it make sense to get the most advanced camera system at the time so that one isn't already behind the curve (i.e. Dust Removal and 10.2 MP)? I am tend to be a buy it once kind of guy. It seems like the Alpha for only $160 more might be the smart play.

Some back story... I have been out of photography since high school (2 years during) but love taking my point and shoot with me everywhere. I take a lot of candid portraits of people and animals. I am a firearms enthusiast (police officer) and frequently take stills of my collection. I have access to large format printing (up to 60" wide ) from a previous job managing a Kinko's location so I would like to keep open the possibilty of LARGE prints.

What should I do? Both bodies feel good ergonomically... Either is acceptable economically. Help!!!

04-04-2007, 01:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery