Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Forum Member

Do I want FF or not?

Ever since I started shooting digital, noise has been my constant pet peeve. I have been patiently waiting for Pentax to come out with a FF camera so that I can finally put an end to this noise issue. Recently though I have been giving more thought to the type of shooting I do and I was wondering if FF would really be better. A good half of my shots are BIF (birds or bugs) and macro. Both usually require a good bit of cropping for the final pic. Since I received my K20 I've noticed an improved ability to crop and retain really good resolution over my old K10. This got me to thinking. Suppose two 14mp cameras had the same pixel count and 300 mm lens, but one was FF and one wasn't. If you took a shot of a distant object with both and then cropped both to get the same final view, wouldn't the FF shot produce a poorer pic and suffer from less resolution and more pixelation? Both cameras had 14mp, but the FF camera is spreading them over a much larger area (viewing angle). It seems to me that for FF to be a benifit, it MUST also come with a much larger file size? This also makes me wonder why Nikon's D300 and D700 have the same 12mp? The D700 produces less noise, but wouldn't the 300 produce a superior picture if it were cropped?
I was hoping that someone with a better understanding of this could reply. Also, besides the less noise and shallower depth of field, what are (if any ) the benifits of FF cameras? They are bigger, heavier, more expensive, and, it would seem, make it more difficult to take good telephoto shots...although wide angle would be improved.

Thanks
Tony

03-11-2009, 03:42 PM   #2