Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2009, 11:06 AM   #16

I have been kicking this idea around all week.. if not all month. I have been a Pentax user since 1983 when I used a K1000 for photos for my high school newspaper. Worked my way to a Pz1P eventually, then a 645Nii. I found that in the end I just never lugged the 645 with me when I needed to have it, on my backpacking and fly fishing trips. I have been using a k10d and now a k20d for the last two years or so. I have a bag full of lenses from the Bigma to the Pentax 12-24. W

What I can not get away from is my old mindset that bigger is always better when it comes to the recording media. I recently purchased an Epson 3800 and plan on making 17"x?? size pritnts.. I say ?? because Epson says 22" is the max length but on the web I have found folks who have made up to 45" long prints,,, so as I get into bigger and bigger prints I just keep thinking that medium format slides made better prints than 35mm... so why wouldnt FF make better big prints than APS-C. I am so analog

03-12-2009, 11:30 AM   #17
Forum Member

To respond to the topic: No, I prefer, for my personal needs, format APSc. For my shots I prefer the angle of field more "telephoto oriented". I prefeer more depth of field of APSc...i don't need of very high iso performance or extreme bohek.
Noise question: for great print on photographic paper (up to 30x45 cm) i haven't any problem of noise.
I also can not distinguish the difference in print between the two formats. I think that the quality of a photo is the photographer (80%), then the optical (15%) and finally the sensor (5%).

Often I have known many people who look for ff are the same people that do not print their photos (!!!). With the exception of a few cases of real need, I think that the current need of ff is more a question of marketing. So, i prefeer the APSc and 4/3 format.