Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-14-2009, 05:25 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
*ist DL - Focus Problem - operator error or hardware

Hello Everyone,

I'm a total newb and photography, and DSLR's. I've recently acquired a few zoom lens and have been testing them out.

I'm having some problems with my photos and have searched the boards / internet but have not found an answer for myself.

My images when zoomed in seem to have some weird focus.

From what I know, the focus of the camera is set to center / spot, and i adjust my aperture to focus.

I'm wondering, when zoomed in should I increase the aperture value to get a better focused shot?

I've tried to get a few closeup shots of birds and flowers.

The lens I'm having issues with is a Sigma 70-300mm DG APO.

I used a tripod, and use manual shutter release and a 2second time shot to reduce any kind of shake.

For pictures of the bird, I am thinking because the subject is small I can't really get better quality? There isn't much detail and the focus seems off even though I have the bird centered.

For the closeup of the flowers, I used the macro option on the lens and tried to focus on the center (dark orange part), holding the shutter release halfway and recomposing the shot. However, the focus does not seem to stick. I can set it to try to focus on the center, but then that would mean I can't recompose any of my shots with focus on the subject that I want.

If anyone can help or direct me to some online literature I would greatly appreciate it.

My question is : is this an issue with technique (which I believe) or more of an issue with hardware?

I would like to see if there are any information on testing / adjusting the focus on my camera.

The pictures & EXIF can be found on my photostream : http://www.flickr.com/photos/28822023@N06/

-Thu

03-14-2009, 07:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery