Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Forum Member

Leaving pentax? eek.

Today I went to inkley's pondering at lenses.

There wasn't much of a wide available selection, even knowing its a GIANT store I was in. They had endless selections in Sony, Nikon, Canon, etc... but pentax was very neglected.

I asked their employees of "why?" and there wasn't much of a straight answer. I said "... maybe buying my K20D may have been a mistake for one who doesn't have much glass to go with the body" ... they agreed.

I love all the Pentax SLR's I've had. When I had my *istDS it was SWEET knowing how easily it outperformed all it's predecessors. Owning my K20D and purchasing it when it was $1200 because I thought I "just had to have it" being as I'm majoring in photography. Now, When pondering at the counter looking at which lenses I would like to accessorize my K20D in ... I start to feel a little sick wondering if I should switch to a nikon D90 body... I don't have much for lenses for my pentax other than a few basics, but seeing the large and very easy to get variety for nikon just standing there in my face teases me. The D90 body is sweet, maybe not built as well as the K20D but surely feels and seems like it outperforms EASY.

Suggestions?

Maybe pentax will come out with something newer and better, I was expecting so much more with the K20D's firmware, but it still seems like "DOS on an intel iMac". The lack of "mirror-up" bothers me, but support for PC sync flash is sweet. The lack of HDMI live video out bothers me too, i love setting up monitors for subjects. AWB sucks.

Talk me out of switching to nikon. What am I giving up? Don't flame me

03-17-2009, 03:43 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Unless you are willing to spend major $$$$, I am almost sure you will not be happy with Ni*** or Ca*** or whatever is presented to you.