Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2009, 11:55 AM   #1
Forum Member

Golf Photography

I recently picked up a deal with the golf club where I work. I work as a starter/tee master and the club owner asked me to be his "head" photographer. He has never had one but figured I would just take pictures while Im working instead of doing work. There are going to be a few tournaments this year along with the college national championship. I am using a K10d and feel it will be good enough to do the job since they generally sit in one place for a bit of time. I am looking to get the Pentax 300m F4 star lens for the deal. If all goes well, they will probably send me to a couple LPGA tournaments as well.
Anyone with some experience in golf that might have some input. I was also thinking about the f4 200 star lens as well, but think I will be better off with the 300 and can use it for many other purposes.

03-24-2009, 09:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Cool! I've shot the practice round of the Shell Houston Open and 300mm is good. I've also used the DA*200. I could imagine the DA*50-135 would also be useful, but I've never taken it (that I can remember).

Here the set taken with the K20D and the DA*200.
2008 Shell Houston Open - a set on Flickr

And this set was taken with the K100D and an old SMC 300mm f/4.0 lens.
2007 Shell Houston Open - a set on Flickr

And don't forget the 21fps burst mode on the K20D. You can get some great swing sequences with it. These were taken with the 18-250 lens (which is also pretty good considering golf is usually played on bright sunny days).
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rfortson/sets/72157606587040563/
03-24-2009, 09:57 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jjeling Quote
I was also thinking about the f4 200 star lens as well, but think I will be better off with the 300 and can use it for many other purposes.