Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2009, 06:38 PM   #1

Sensor Dust or what???

I am new to DSLR's and the K20d was my first one. I love the camera and have done fairly well using my own settings etc...I have had the camera for about 3 weeks now and have noticed some "artifacts" on my images once downloaded to my computer. They show up on every image in the same spot, but not every time. I could expose the pictures the same on similar backgrounds and sometimes it shows up and sometimes it doesn't.

I am thinking it may have to do with the lens and not the sensor as I have done dust removal a bunch of times to remove any particles.

I leave the lens cap on when doing dust alert to see if any particles show up. Is this how your supposed to do it? or do you have recommendations?

Could you please help me understand what is wrong? I will attach an image below with a good representation; the artifacts are in the right hand side of image above the car.

FYI: I have had a filter on the lens since i purchased it

03-24-2009, 08:36 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If it shows up when you have high F-stop (F16, F22 etc.) but not when you have them low (F1.8, F2.2, etc.), then most likely it's sensor dust. Do you have any other lens to try on to rule out junk on your lens? (I doubt that's the issue, as it would have to be a fairly sizeable gunk to show up in your images).

For dust alert to work properly, find a nice white wall and shoot at that.
03-24-2009, 08:58 PM   #3
Veteran Member

It's sensor dust. Dust on the lens won't show up in an image.

The Dust alert feature must be shot at either a totally blank sky or a blank wall. Be very careful that nothing falls into the field of view, because it will show up as big, black dust/lint.