Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2009, 03:12 AM   #1

K20D exposure and anti-shake

I am new to DSLR and I just bought the K20D for a month. Everything is fine so far. I have two questions here:
1. After buying the K20D, I looked through the Web so as to know more about the camera (and that's why I am here). I was informed that the camera is a little bit under-exposed, but I want to know how much. That is, if I set the EV compensation, but how much (1/3? 1/2?) should I set so that I can get normal exposure?
2. I used to use a non-DSLR camera that also has anti-shaking property and timer. Now if I want to take a shot with long exposure time, I would simply activate the 2 sec timer so that my finger would not blur the photo. By this way normally I can have the exposure time a step slower and still get satisfactory result. Now for K20D, by some reason (the forum has discussed this), when I activate the timer, the anti-shake would automatically deactivate itself, which renders the above technique useless. Any thoughts?

Best wishes,
KCC

04-03-2009, 04:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Hello, and welcome!
Well, regarding the exposure problem, let's say it's related to the lens used.
For f/3.5-5.6 lens, exposure will be quite good.
But with fast lenses, you'll have a variable amount of underexposure...
- f/1.4 needs about +1 1/2ev
- f/2.8 needs about +1ev

and so on...

This is due to the fact that the focus screen does not respond in a linear way to the aperture of the lens...
You should have a direct relation between shutter speed and aperture (i.e. going from f/1.4 to f/2 should halve the shutter speed, going from say 1/1000 to 1/500).
But with the original k20 focus screen, this relation is not respected (going from f/1.4 to f/2 won't halve the speed).

Note : I'm talking about using actual, stop-down apertures.