Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2009, 10:36 AM   #1

Portability Questions on K20D & 100mm Macro and 18-250 tele

I love you folks. I've been rumbling around in the archives.

Here's my dilemma. I would like convenience and portability with my K20D (buying on Amazon today). I commute by bike and bus to work and everywhere (camera always with me in padded messenger bag) and want the convenience of the Pentax DA 18-250 and the thrill of 1:1 macro with the Pentax FA 100mm Macro.

I lug around a lot of crap normally in the messenger bag so I don't think that replacing the crap with the weight of the K20D with battery grip, the 18-250, and the 100 Macro is too unrealistic.....huh....huh....huh?????

I'm a dedicated amateur with memories of lugging around my 400 lb Nikon and four lenses...but then I was only 30 years old. At 63 now, my Trek bike has 21 gears but I only have about 2 stripped gears on me! So I don't zoom on the bike but I would like to zoom with the camera and get really quality photos.

1. How much would all this gear weigh?
2. I want the macro for very small things, not necessarily bugs or always things that are moving, just really good quality. Is the 100 Macro the best choice for this? I'd rather have a good macro lens than do the closeup filter thingy.
3. Will the 18-250 tele stand up to being hauled around on a bike (Remember I bike slowly and patiently).
4. I don't want to sacrifice speed of the lens but is there a better choice of lenses for what I want.

Thanks for your advice!

04-11-2009, 02:07 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Hello there.

1 - You can hunt the spec sheets for exact weights, but I guess 2 to 2,5 kg
2 - Probably. A shorter focal length macro means you get closer and scare bugs away. OTOH, DOF is longer.
3 - Certainly will. I have one and it's a great lens.
4 - Only if you're willing to sacrifice zoom range, or carry more lenses.
04-11-2009, 02:41 PM   #3

Original Poster