Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2009, 12:20 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Smudge in photos

I just got a new Pentax K20D 3 weeks ago. I've noticed that there is already a smudge type line in all of my photos. I've cleaned the lenses. I've determined its something inside the camera and not the lenses since I've changed to different lenses and the smudge still appears. I've tried the "sensor cleaning" "Mirror Up" but no luck. I'm still very new with this camera and do not want to do more damage trying to locate this smudge. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I've attached a few photos with the smudge.

05-10-2009, 01:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You don't say what you actually *did* while the mirror was up - do you realize the point is to give you access to the sensor so you can clean it yourself? It isn't an autoamtic process like the "dust removal" facility. if you haven't tried the dust removal, try that first - run it like a dozen times in a row. Next recourse should be to use the "sensor cleaning" mode and squirt clean air at the sensor using a blower bulb like the "Rocket" blower. Only if that fails should other methods be tried. Google for "sensor cleaning" and you'll find *tons* of information on the subject.
05-10-2009, 01:45 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks so much for pointing me in the right direction.
05-10-2009, 05:43 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
there are many brave souls who will attempt to clean the camera's innards...
me, i'm a devout coward.... i've relied on my local camera repair shop....
i'm sure there must be one (or more) in your area.... check with local pro photographers...
they customarily use a 'pro' to clean their equipment, which is heavily used and requires
constant maintenance.... best of luck...

05-10-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster