Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-23-2009, 06:33 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
k200d or k20d? Help!

Here's the question...I'm ready to get my first DSLR after several years using a Kodak 5 megapixel 10x zoom.. There's a little more than $200.00 difference between the k200d and the k20d depending on which website you look at. I'm an amateur photographer who's ready to go to the next stage. Will I wish I had purchased the k20d after a few months or is the k200d enough of a camera for most people? Is the k20d challenging to the point of frustration? Sorry the question is vague but I really would appreciate the advice. Thanks in advance.

05-23-2009, 06:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't have either of these two (I have the K100D), and while I really like the K100D, I am now looking at the K20D. At the time I bought (9/07), there was about a $400 difference between the K100D and the K10D, and I wasn't sure I was interested enough in a DSLR to fork over the $400. Wasn't long after buying the K100D that I was thinking....."hmmmm, sort of wish I had bought the K10D". I'm hoping the price of the K20D comes waaayyyyy down after the K-7 is available. Bottom line, I would get the K20D.
05-23-2009, 09:43 PM   #3

I started with a P&S and picked a K200D.

The K200D has various Scene modes, similar to most P&S cameras these days. I find them useful as quick presets, instead of doing the same things manually. They also kept me in a comfort zone while I was learning the behavior of the other modes in relation to how I shoot. Besides the scene modes, the K20D has pretty much everything else the K200D does, plus more. (Note that the K20D does have a full auto Green mode, so it's not like you're stuck scratching your head when you aren't sure what to do. Even P mode is pretty easy on any camera.)