Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-26-2009, 01:59 PM   #1

'Normal' program line on K10D?

I was a strictly aperture priority (or pure manual) film camera guy before I got my K10D, so I've never used Program mode on an SLR before, and I'm a little puzzled about it. I know on the K10D you can set the program line method to prioritise aperture, shutter speed or MTF, and I'm pretty sure I understand the effects of doing all of these. You can, though, just leave it on 'Normal', and this is the one I don't understand. How does the 'Normal' program hit upon the combination of aperture, shutter speed and ISO needed? It presumably has to prioritise something or the settings would be effectively random.

05-26-2009, 02:15 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
These are good questions.
And it also seems that the depth of field program line strives for a deep field instead of a shallow, thin field which most often is what I prefer. I set mine on MTF and spin e dials.
Someone will come along and give us things to think about or point out the obvious remarks in the owner's manual I am sure.
05-26-2009, 02:49 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Yeah, good point.
Who knows what the 'normal' algorithm prioritises...
How did P modes work before MTF/aperture prioritisations?
This may explain the 'normal' setting...
05-26-2009, 03:31 PM   #4

Based on my K200D, which doesn't have multiple program lines and is presumably the same as Normal, it works roughly like this, assuming Auto ISO and going from dark to light:
  • starting at wide-open aperture, max ISO, necessary shutter speed
  • increase shutter speed until it's fast enough to not show camera shake (dependent on focal length, and ignoring SR)
  • reduce ISO until it hits bottom
  • increase shutter speed a bit more, just to be sure
  • slowly close aperture while still increasing shutter speed