Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2009, 05:15 PM   #1

Expected life span of the shutter mechanism of a K20D?

What is the expected number of shots the shutter mechanism can pull off before it can start to fail on the K20D?

I have a GX-20, but I assume its the same parts as the K20D in this case.

Last edited by Smirf; 06-02-2009 at 05:25 PM.
06-02-2009, 05:34 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've read that 100,000 shutter actuations is the tested amount for the K20D. Others would probably have more (and better) information than me on this, though, as I am by no means an expert on technical issues.
06-02-2009, 05:37 PM   #3

Original Poster
I've had my camera in five weeks and I've already made around 4500 shots. If I continue at that rate I'll hit 100 K in about 2 years. Bummer

Does anyone know the expected cost of replacing the shutter mechanism?
06-02-2009, 05:43 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Re numer of shutter actuations

I purchased a K20D as soon as one became available and use the camera
on a daily basis, its been around the globe serveral times, dont know the shutter
count as there is no tally (I think), If you consider the pace of camera inovation
the camera will be out of date long long before the shutter fails, in fact its more
likely to fail through age and lack of use.

06-02-2009, 07:16 PM   #5
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by DAVID564 Quote
............. If you consider the pace of camera inovation
the camera will be out of date long long before the shutter fails, .........
My thoughts exactly
06-02-2009, 09:14 PM   #6
Ari
Veteran Member

It's rated for 100,000 actuations. If you're taking just under 1000 shots a week, consider yourself lucky; you have time to pursue either a wonderful hobby or a rewarding profession. I am very jealous!
QuoteOriginally posted by Smirf Quote