Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-17-2009, 12:26 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Which Camera should I get?????

OK Group, I'm a newbie here and don't want to get flamed out on my first time. If this question has been posed before, I apologize.
I'm an "old school" photographer and have worked both as an amateur and professionally. I currently have a (film) Pentax SF! with an assortment of lenses (k Mounts). I'm ready to go digital, but can't make up my mind whether to go cheap with a K2000, or get a k200, K20, or the new K7! At present, I'm really torn between the K20 and the K7 but the spec's don't convince me that the K7 would offer anything substantial for all the extra dough I'd have to spend.
I first shot with a Pentax Spotmatic when I was in the Army. At that time I used Nikon, Pentax, Canon, Leica (my favorite) and most everything available. I got hooked on Pentax back then and have stayed with them.
My main concern is being able to use my current Lenses on the new camera.
Any advice, or serious comments will certainly be appreciated.

Bob Hillerby
Combat Photographer
B 1/9th Cav., 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile)
Republic of Vietnam 1966-1967

06-17-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Pentaxian

First of all, welcome to the forum. My $.02 (and it's really only worth 2 cents) is to never buy a DSLR when it first comes out. In your situation I would go for K20D initially as they will be relatively inexpensive compared to the K7 and is a great camera. All this goes out the window if some of the K7 features like video and FPS are really important to you. The great thing is that you can take great photo's with any of the cameras you mentioned. Good lucki.
06-17-2009, 04:16 PM   #3
Veteran Member

hi, welcome

my suggestion would be:
i do not know how it's in film cameras, but if there are not many focus points.. or just one.. and the size matters.. i'd cheaply buy Pentax K2000..