Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2009, 02:48 AM   #1

Lens Choice help

I'm wanting a K7 (hopefully it allows control in video mode with SHUTTER and iso) but need some advice on lens choices...

The Tamron
70-200mm 2.8

VS.

The Pentax DA 50-135mm 2.8

I do events - weddings etc (I'm a videographer first off, branching into photography)

and was wondering if 135mm is enough range for you guys, or do you really wish for 200mm of a tamron?

Both lenses are about the same price and both seem to have great reviews (I know tamron has autofocus complaints, but I don't really care about that)

Anyone try both or have any suggestions - range issue is my main thing along with optical quality of course. The Tamron seems to be a very good lens on par with the Pentax...it also has macro...from the sample pics I saw it does seem like the Pentax has better bokeh...but you can only tell so much from the web.

Thoughts?

06-25-2009, 04:04 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I own the 50-135. It is a great lens. I guess the question is whether you want the extra reach. I find that for most events, 135mm is sufficient, but certainly 200mm wouldn't hurt. The other differences are that the Tamron is screw driven and so is a little noisier, definitely quite a bit larger in size (about double the weight), and doesn't have weather sealing.

Another lens to think about, would be the DA* 60-250. If you want a longer range, it would give you 10mm on the short end and 50mm on the long end. Of course, it is only f4, so that might be a deal breaker...
06-25-2009, 04:43 AM   #3

Original Poster
Yeah 2.8 is the slowest I go, but thanks for the 135 endorsement. I kind'a trust Pentax more and just like matching brands vs. third party.

But Tamron is actually among the better 3rd parties, many have claimed their 70-200mm is at times better than Canon's L 2.8.