Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
08-03-2009, 05:14 AM   #61
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
This is cool! Ever since I got my K100D three years ago (then K10 -> K20) I always wondered why no one has made hacked firmware for our cameras to improve the little things (and maybe add some cool features as well). Good luck! (I have zero knowledge about these stuff, so consider me a cheerleader to your cause! My moral support is with you guys!)

08-03-2009, 05:30 AM   #62
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I could easily answer why no one made hacked firmware.

1) It require free time and quite an expertise. Most people who can make such hack could afford to buy better DSLR, like 5D Mk II :-)
2) Most successfull hacks are made by young people in developing countries. So, small salaries and bunch of free time :-)

Today we are in the era of Apple IIe, and soon IBM PC will be available.
Mobile phone market is also near this period. And you could only guess potential just by looking at Apple iPhone Apps Store.
As soon as camera makers could understand that firmware must be developed incrementally and have parts of source available publicly.
08-03-2009, 05:54 AM   #63

tr13, my eternal gratitude goes to you, for your unselfish efforts.
Unfortunatelly I'm designer, not programmer, and can't help you directly.
If there is anything else I can do to help "our cause", let me know.
Thanks again and good luck!
08-03-2009, 07:27 AM   #64
Forum Member

I would love to see a little more technical detail on your site. More detail on the encryption used, how it was deciphered, the algorithm used, even the source code.

I used to be very good at such things, but I've been away from it for a few years and it's a hard to follow what you are doing, much less understand or duplicate it, from a couple screenshots.

08-03-2009, 08:04 AM   #65
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by KyPainter Quote