Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2009, 01:10 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K110D with old lenses....

Hi all...newbie here. I have a Pentax film SLR PZ-10. Hadn't used it in years (have had cannon p/s ..)

I didn't want to trash the two lenses so I picked up a K110D body only. It'll be here soon.

So I was hoping to get some pointers on what to expect using the lenses I have with the K110D.... the 28-50 that came with the PZ-10 and a Sigma 70-300 I bought for a Disney vacation (great pics with my pz-10!) back when..... they are KAF2 mounts.

a new toy....

08-06-2009, 01:50 PM   #2

The Lenses Will Work Fine

Both lenses will work just as they did on your PZ-10 except for any power zoom function that the 28-50 might have. Just like with the film camera, the 70-300 may be hard to get sharp shots at the longer focal lengths due to camera shake but if you have enough light, it will be fine.
Enjoy your new toy and get some good hybrid rechargeable batteries to use with it (Eneloops, etc). There are many posts on these batteries.
08-06-2009, 06:35 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Also, look up the term "crop factor" if you are not aware of how the field of view will change going from film to digital. The 70-300 will seem like an even longer lens, but the 28-80 won't be as wide. Elsewhere, you ask about general purposes lenses. I'd say you're pretty well covered for starters, but you may end up missing the wide end enough to eventually pick up an 18-55 or something like that, which will more or less exactly match what your 28-80 did on film.
08-06-2009, 07:48 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Angles of view

I don't like the term "Crop factor". It causes a lot of confusion among dslr newbies. It seems like once a week, we have a question here about how someone's 200mm lens becomes a 300mm lens on a dslr, or, should they enter 200 or 300 for SR on a manual lens.