Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2009, 03:40 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-7 iso 3200 images at the Airforce Museum(double post)

I thought I'll post these images here as well. I think iso 3200 can be used in situations where there is no other options. Exif is intact, all at iso 3200 and very low shutter speeds. All shots were hand held of course.

This is my first attempt at real life low iso shots. These had NR done in Noiseware pro and PP in CS2. Rawtherapee for raw conversion.

Last edited by pcarfan; 08-30-2009 at 03:55 PM.
08-30-2009, 04:19 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Thanks for the real-world examples of the high-ISO performance.

And having been to the Air Force Museum (NMUSAF homepage) many times (I work on base) I can attest to how awful the lighting is in there for photography. Especially the "Early Years" hangar where you took those shots. Things improve a good bit in the "Modern Flight" hangar.
08-30-2009, 04:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member

They look good. Aren't some museum interiors dimly lit nowadays? It's sometimes just hard to read the signage, let alone view the exhibits.

It would be interesting to see a 'Before' and 'After' example of one of those shots, to see what the image looked like straight out of the camera, and then after your PP.
08-30-2009, 04:31 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Just as a note, I have a very similar shot of the Wright brothers from my K100D....it's just a bit wider view. Mine was 21mm with the kit lens vs. your 10mm, but I was probably a lot farther away.