Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #1

I Need Some Help Please

Hello all,

I am currently in the market for a new DSLR. I am coming from a Nikon D50 and am trying to weigh my options. I have been leaning toward an Olympus E-3, but saw the new K-7 and I cannot get it out of my head. I am an amateur, but I really love photography and am wanting to get back in to it more regularly. The problem is I haven't purchased a camera since 2005 and I want to make sure I am spending my money wisely. My current kit consists of the D50, a Nikon DX 18-55mm, and a Sigma 70-300mm.

Here is what I am looking at for my new kit:

Pentax K-7
DA* 300mm
DA* 16-50mm
DA* 50-135mm
DA 10-17mm Fisheye
D FA 100mm macro

I am also toying with the macro flash and grip. I shoot the local airshow every year so that is why I am going for reach with the 300mm. I will also be shooting sports for the high school I teach at so I figured the 50-135 would be great for that.

My main concern is the longevity of Pentax. I know they have been around for a long time, but I keep reading different threads saying that Pentax is on the edge of going under. Of course, that is what they say about Apple all the time as well. Should I be worried? I am glad they aren't huge like Canon, Nikon, and Sony, but I wonder if hope is lost.

I hear great things about this camera, but unfortunately there is not a local dealer that carries Pentax so I cannot hold it. I know from the specs that it is almost dead on with my D50, so I like that. My D50 has worked well, but it is time to pass that on to my wife. I never had any problems personally with the image quality from the D50, but I just want to make sure this camera and lenses will surpass it. I truly think it will blow my current setup out of the water.