Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2007, 01:21 PM   #1

Weird focus issue.

I am new to the K10D so bare with me.

I am using the 40 Limited .

If I choose auto focus point and it selects an area to focus on, it never seems to be spot on with it's chosen focus point. Almost like there is a little BF/FF or the highlighted focus point is really not the one the camera is using.

If I manually choose the focus point...it is tack sharp.

This only seems to be an issue when I am in the 3-4' range. Farther shots always seem to properly focus on the auto chosen focus point.

Anyone else see this?

Thanks.

05-22-2007, 01:51 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Focus

I have the DS and have the same with the 40mm and other lenses. Close up they all seem to bf or ff sometimes, and pick perfect focus other times.

I have been down the route of the focus test chart and adjusting focus through the debug menu, and to be honest...dont bother. It is apparent to me that the autofocus is a bit wayward close up and varies per lens. To test this put your camera on a tripod in front of a clear contrasty subject and keep getting it to autofocus while you watch the lens distance markings. You will be surprised at the variance.

The secret is to manually focus close up....the quick focus system was not invented for nought.

You will not notice the misfocus (if it exists) on longer distances as the depth of field will bet hat much greater.
05-22-2007, 01:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
21 Limited

QuoteOriginally posted by dwinnert Quote

If I choose auto focus point and it selects an area to focus on, it never seems to be spot on with it's chosen focus point. Almost like there is a little BF/FF or the highlighted focus point is really not the one the camera is using.