Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-23-2007, 02:21 AM   #1

Photography noob needs expert advice

I'm a bit of a photography newbie, and i'm looking into buying a nice, not-too-expensive D SLR for myself. I've never really tried a D SLR, let alone bought one. I'm relatively comfortable using my Dad's Olympus OM-1, but I'm interested in going digital (I'm a college student, and buying film + developing it costs a lot, specially here in Europe.)
I've been looking around, reading reviews for the last couple of days, and for some reason (don't ask me why), the Pentax K10D seems more desirable than other similar-priced cameras, such as the Canon Digital Rebel XTi, the Nikon D70/D80, and the rest.
Well, to tell the truth, there are a couple of reasons why I like it more, starting with apparent ruggedness. I'd really like it to last more than just a couple years (I'm not asking it to last as long as my Dad's camera, which is about 30 years old, but I would like it to last maybe 5+ years).
I also liked the fact that the kit lens compared very favorably to, say, the Canon kit lens. On the other hand, I'm kinda considering skipping the kit lens part and moving on directly to some more serious stuff. So if anyone feels like helping out a poor newbie...
I'd really like to keep the price of the system under 1200$, 1000 would be nice. Right now I'm looking at the Sigma 17-70 mm f/2.8-4.5 zoom lens, which seems pretty nice for its price, but then I wouldn't have much in the way of telephoto. Basically, what I really need to know is: what lenses should I buy if I want to have an "all-round" system, and where can I buy them for cheap? If anyone feels like helping out a poor, confused newbie, I'd be super-grateful (Actually, just pointing me to good sites where I can find cheap lenses, and guides/manuals concerning the k10d, that'd be really cool)

PS: I hope I didn't post this in the wrong place, or asked the wrong questions...