Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-25-2009, 10:25 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K10d Lens Compatibility

I'm sure it's here somewhere, but with so many pages I just can't find it. I just purchased (haven't yet received) a new k10d body and need to obtain a few lenses. I have come across the keh.com website and see many lenses I think will work, but am just not sure. The last time I used an SLR was 20 years ago in high school photography. My question is this, will the following lenses work with my new camera and retain the full functionality? I guess I also need to know about lens quality, keeping in mind I'm a novice not professional.
  1. 28-80 F3.5-5.6 MSC FA AL (58) 35MM SLR AUTO FOCUS ZOOM WIDE ANGLE LENS
  2. 70-200 F4-5.6 F (49) 35MM SLR AUTO FOCUS ZOOM TELEPHOTO LENS
  3. 28-80 F3.5-5.6 TAMRON ASPHERICAL (58) SILVER WITH CAPS 35MM SLR AUTO FOCUS ZOOM WIDE ANGLE LENS

09-25-2009, 10:33 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
number 1 will work just fine, although if it is a power zoom, except for motorized zoom when you tur the zoom collar, none of the special power zoom features like image size tracking, zoom in and out during exposure and quick return to a selected focal length will work, as the new bodies don;t support those functions.

can't say about the other two as to what all they will do, because I don';t know whether they are AF, MF Have an A position etc.
09-25-2009, 12:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

For practical purposes, all the lens listed will work on a Pentax DSLR. They will autofocus, and autoexposure.

But I think you should hold off buying any lens until you get the body. The lenses you list are very common and inexpensive. I'm sure you can get them from members here at better prices than from KEH. Just start a thread on Wanted Items Forum.
09-25-2009, 04:32 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery