Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2006, 07:39 PM   #1

K100D Default Scene Modes

This might take a while, so please bear with me.
I'm coming from Nikon film SLR and want to buy the K100D I'm not brand fixated and can look beyond the 'big' 2. As a complete novice I will most likely be using the cameras default scene modes to start off with; Portrait, Landscape etc. and believe that the 'bright' mode cannot be substituted for 'natural' which brings me to my point:

If I shoot RAW and use the scene modes does that meen I can then change just this setting? and

Are the options under the 'function button' still available in the scene modes ie to change the white balance or ISO for example.

I really want this camera, I just need a push.

11-14-2006, 02:14 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My camera is the DL, not the K100D, so I'm not 100% sure this will apply, but:

The camera will lock certain settings when you have certain scene modes engaged. For instance I'm pretty sure I remember finding that white balance can't be moved from 'auto' when you're in portrait mode. If you're like me you will probably use the scene modes for a fairly short time when you get the camera; despite what some purists might say, they're valuable for novices because they really do take pretty good pictures, plus you can look afterwards at the exif info and see what choices the camera made. After a while I was ready to mostly use aperture priority or manual mode.

Shooting RAW, since you mention it, does mean you have lots of latitude for fixing things after the fact. You can take care of almost everything except misfocus, or having had the camera pointed at the wrong thing. Well that's an exaggeration. But even significant exposure problems can often be effectively fixed in RAW where it would have been unrecoverable in JPG.

I'm quite happy with my DL, and the K100D is better in every way. IMO, you can't go wrong with it.