Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-05-2009, 06:47 AM   #1
Inactive Account

K-X specs

hi! i am new in the forum, i have searched for a thread discussing the pentax k-x specs and i have not found any, so i decided to create one

i think i will buy this camera on christmas, but i have some technical doubts about the specs (i am new at dslr)

- batteries, what is the differnece between the lithium batteries and rechargeable NiMH or hybrid? i read with lithium batteries you can reach 1900 shots or 1100 (50% flash) but i will use rechargeable ones, will i notice much difference?

- i also read it will record hd video720@24, do you know if it will include lower res at more fps? is 24 ok or 30 is much better?

- it can make a sequence of 17 jpg at 4,7fps or 5 raw. is that as few as it seems or is it ok?

10-05-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
Veteran Member

A couple of responses to your points.

I think as far as batteries are concerned, there are probably several review sites out there that deal specifically with them. I will be using eneloops personally (already have a bunch) and expect to get alot of photos out of a single charge. 700-800 shots is well beyond a day's worth of shooting for me.

24FPS for video, as far as I understand it, is a fairly accepted framerate in the video world (not the only one, but nothing out of the ordinary). I think it is actually generally preferable to 30fps. (note I just typed in 24fps and the first google auto complete is '24fps vs 30fps' which tells me this is a long running discussion!) I wouldn't be surprised to see a lower resolution option, but that is just personal speculation.