Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-06-2009, 09:50 PM   #1

Better glass, or a back up dSLR?

I am just a hobbyist, with a few paid sessions here and there--mostly for pet photography, if that makes any difference in the question, but I have a dilemma I am hoping a few of my fellow Pentaxians will help me out with.

I primarily shoot with my K10D with a sort of broad assortment of okay lenses (18-55 kit lens--doesn't get much love, 75-300mm Macro Sigma, 28-80 Mini Macro Sigma, 50-200 Pentax DA, 100mm 2.0 Macro, and a SMC-A 50 mm f: 2:0--used most often)

I have a "back up" body, which is the *ist DL. I have been thinking about selling it to help fund some nicer glass. Maybe a FA or DA 50 mm, since I am tired of always manually focusing with the 50 mm I have now, or maybe a 35 mm or a wide or fisheye lens.

So my question is two fold--should I just hold off and keep a 'back up' camera or should I sell the DL and fund something else? If I sell the DL--are there any lens recommendations? We aren't really in a place to contribute much towards something new without selling the body, so though I wish it were, it just isn't an option.

Thanks in advance for advice/opinons! (And I hope I put this in the right place! Please let me know if I am in the wrong forum with this!)

10-06-2009, 10:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'm not a pro, but I suspect that your old DSLR camera bodies will work well with better glass.
10-06-2009, 10:31 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Having 2 bodies is useful for those fast-paced assignments.
Selling the DL may not give you very much - maybe even not covering the cost of a 50mm AF lens.
Consider these things first, and be sure what lenses you're really after. If it's a fast fifty - there's the FA 50/1.4 or DA* 55/1.4 but no DA 50 (unless you're talking about the DFA 50 macro).
Enjoy deciding!
10-06-2009, 10:48 PM   #4

Original Poster