Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2009, 04:35 AM   #1

New Pentax K7 owner here!

Hello everyone!

I am new to the Pentax forums, although I have been reading pentax forums for years. Anyways, I have finally upgraded from my Pentax SF1, which I could say, provided me with many years of quality photos, to the new Pentax K7. I am expecting delivery of the camera today!!!

I mainly shoot my grand kids playing varsity sports at the college level, indoor birthdays and the usual pet photos.

Anyways, besides this wonderful camera I purchased the following lenses for myself:

Pentax DA 16-50mm f2.8
Pentax DA 50-135mm f2.8
Pentax DA 55-300mm F/4-5.8

For my darling wife who is a point-n-shoot aficionado I purchased:

Pentax DA 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3

What else can I buy? a flash or another lens? I appreciate any and all comments!

10-08-2009, 04:59 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You have an amazing set-up there, but if you want to get more out of the system, I would suggest a fast prime, like the FA31/1.8, FA43/1.9, DA*55/1.4 or FA77/1.8 just to be able to enjoy the pentax prime rendering, the bokeh (Out of focus) and for low light capabilities.

What are the lenses you have from the SF1 days, they could be fun as well...

P.S: Flash is a must...I like the Pentax 540. So, my vote at the end has to go for the flash.
10-08-2009, 05:06 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the forum.
You'll e sure to find a wealth of information that will help you in your transition from film to digital. You have invested in some fine glassware for the K-7.