Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2009, 10:13 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K100D can't recognise lenses - pls help?

Hi All,

I'm a newbie & new to the forum as well. I've had my Pentax K100D for over 2 years now originally with Pentax 18-55 kit lens & later acquired Sigma 10-20 Ultra Wide & Sigma 30mm prime.
My firmware is 1.02, I use NiMH rechargables (generic brand).
Have previously tried M42 lenses with adapter & set the "F1 with S lens used" & "Using aperture ring" setting to available in Custom settings.

I've used both Sigma's without issues until recently, when my K100D started acting strange.
The issue is that the camera does'nt seem to recognise the lens when I switched between the lenses and is exacerbated as it is intermittent.

So when I change lens, with SR on.
1) camera powers on but the SR will ask what focal length the lens is at (even though it always recognises the lens previously)
2) The camera shows Aperture as F--
3) As my Sigma's does not have an Aperture ring, I can't control the lens even if I have it on manual focus.
4) The only metering mode available to me is "center-weighted" & "spot", whereas the previous "Multi-Segment" mode that used to be there, is now missing.
5) Even with the above conditions, the 18-55 kit lens continue to work! ie has auto-focus, reports aperture etc but NOT the Sigma's, no autofocus, no aperture reading.

I've taken the Sigma's back to the shop where I bought it and they've tried it on other Pentax (not K100D, no longer selling) like K-M, K-7 etc & the lens works.
So I've taken the K100D to a repair shop and they've had a look at it. All the guy did was rub some alcolhol solution on the electrical contact points and "luckily/or unluckily" the Sigma lenses work again.
So I thought, aha, just needs some cleaning but when I got home, and changed lenses, it started happening again.