Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-09-2009, 08:53 AM   #1

viewfinder doesn't match image - confused

Hi everyone, I'm a newcomer to the world of DSLRs. I purchased a K200D a few months back and have been absolutely thrilled with it. I'm a complete amateur and so far, I've been using it for vacation photos, snapshots, etc. I've also been using the Autofocus a lot--I like to think of it as my training wheels while I learn my camera. So far, I only have the 18-55 kit lens.

Anyhow, I've recently noticed something that leaves me confused. I frame a shot through the viewfinder and snap the shutter. But the resulting image is off by a bit. It's shifted up, and by a significant degree--maybe 20% of the area? It's not a shaky hand on my part; I've used a tripod and set it on the tabletop to take test shots. My whole understanding of SLR is that when it comes to framing, "what you see is what you get." But this is the same experience as a point & shoot, where the image in the viewfinder does not perfectly match the image capture.

To my knowledge, the camera and lens have not been bumped, dropped, or otherwise abused so as to lead to physical damage. Does anyone have any advice?

10-09-2009, 11:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
20% of the area? That shouldn't really be possible. Either you are confused about something, or something is horribly wrong. but since we can't see what's in your viewfinde,r it's going to be hard for anything here to say what might be going on. If you bought the camera locally, try taking it back to see if the store people can see what you're seeing. Or even, just find any reasonably experienced photographer to takle a look.

Oh wait, one possibility - do you perhaps have your LCD to start up showing a "zoomed in" part of the image? Can you zoom out using the dial near the shutter and see the rest of the image?