Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-15-2006, 07:26 PM   #1

K10d?

Hello all. I am new here. I am trying to decide if I really should get the K10 coming out, or get a K100. I am going to wait until reviews (professional and user) come out of course, but I wanted to get your opinions.

I am an amateur and currently use a Pentax K1000 and a Canon S2 IS, which means my experience is either with full-manual film or higher-end point and shoot digital. I have yet to invest in a dSLR because I love using my manual focus 50mm/f1.4 lens. Now I see this camera that accepts my favorite lens that will also allow me to save money on film, AND it has weather and dust resistance. I am more of an art photographer - I shoot in available light, usually abstracts and landscapes. I hardly ever do portraits or action. I avoid using flash whenever possible because I don't like how it looks most of the time. To see a sample of what I do, my website is at http://potatostar.com.

How much more complicated is it to use dSLR? Is it basically combining the knowledge I already have? I am a visual person and have never been able to do post-production and exposures mathematically, I just eyeball my adjustments in Photoshop.

11-15-2006, 08:38 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by potatostar Quote
Hello all. I am new here. I am trying to decide if I really should get the K10 coming out, or get a K100. I am going to wait until reviews (professional and user) come out of course, but I wanted to get your opinions.
Many of us are getting the K10D sight unseen. The K100 is a good camera, the K10 looks to be a step up.