Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2009, 05:31 AM   #106

I forgot to include info about about the new required card reader.

Last edited by tarsus; 12-23-2009 at 06:14 AM.
10-29-2009, 05:43 AM   #107
Veteran Member

Original Poster
LOL. Thanks for the help. Now I can't go wrong.

But some things don't change.

At least I can still use any lenses for the KX (circa 1975) straight on the new K-x (2009). That's a big win.
10-29-2009, 06:23 AM   #108
Inactive Account

QuoteQuote:
True enough. And millions of them *did not buy* the K200D, apparently deciding the weather sealing was not worth the cost (in dollars or size / weight). So Pentax did the intelligent thing - removed a feature that was *not* selling them many camera at that price point, and replaced it features like LiveView, video that are pretty much must-haves in this market.
Not sure if that's true. I sell cameras for a living and i can assure you that the weather sealing was one of the K200D's best sale arguments. People loves it. This said, the Km was a big sales success, so i think the Kx will be too, even without weather sealing.
On the other hand, and from my experience, people buying a DSLR is not interested in video. Every time you try to sell a camera with the video argument, you get that same answer: "I'm not interested in video."
In fact, the EOS 450D is selling way better than the video capable EOS 500D, even when the 500D is a newer camera and cost only a mere 100€ more. The very same happens with the Nikon D5000.
10-29-2009, 08:42 AM   #109
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
There was a mention in one of the earlier posts about poor audio quality on the K-X built-in mic. Is there an otion to connect to an external mic? Just thinking for recording live music.

10-29-2009, 08:49 AM   #110
Veteran Member