Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2009, 02:51 PM   #1

Researching and found *istD and more..

I am looking to get into an *istD and found one online that has 2600 shutters on it right now. He has stopped using it as he purchased another one. I can get the camera, SMC DFA 18-35mm lens, UV lens, memory card and adobe software for $300. I think this is a good buy as I am just trying to get started in the dslr camera world. I have looked at the Canon Xti with lens is $400 and it;s almost new, Sony A230, Olympus E420, and another Canon Rebel XS. I feel that the *istD even though it is only 6.1 mp it seems to have a better user rating on it and feels well also. So my question is am I begining my journey down the right path at a good price? And yes I am a newb. where as my wife has taken a class already to give her an added step on things.

Last edited by modforce; 10-26-2009 at 09:13 AM.
10-24-2009, 03:25 PM   #2

I just want to make a comment. If you are starter. it may be a problem for you to use the viewfinder as your only soruce to take picture. LCD does not work as viewfinder like your typical PS camera.

When i first get started i got so tired using it. (i have retina problem)
In your list only canon XS and oly has it.
Please take this into consideration.
10-24-2009, 04:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi and welcome to THE Pentax forum :-)

In quick search at ebay, etc surprised me and I guess that is a pretty good deal on an istD.
I'm not very familiar with it, but many here say it is/was a great camera. That's def a low shutter count for an older model. There is no DFA 18-35 lens, if it's 18-35 then looks like it's a DFJ series. Check the Reviews sections of the forums for more info on lenses and cameras. And maybe some istD owners will speak up too.