Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-28-2009, 02:55 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
K100D how many bad pixels are acceptable?

I read the other very recent thread by -Joe- about stuck pixels on his K100D sensor and it was a timely thread. Right after buying the camera used with about 3000 clicks I started noticing a few (like 3 - 5) bad pixels shooting jpg on normal exposures from 1/60th and faster, I would see them mainly when I would be zoomed in to do some editing, so I tried sensor cleaning via blower to no improvement and decided I had a few bad pixels. So I started shooting RAW and letting Lightroom "map" out the bad ones in conversion, but I really would rather use jpg and get more shots per card.

As time went on it seems I was seeing more and more specks any time I switched over from RAW to jpeg, and even when I would load RAWs into Lightroom, there's that moment while its doing the conversion that I think you briefly see the embedded jpg in the RAW file where I'd see a lots of spots and then they'd disappear.

I followed the suggestion of one poster in that thread to try a method from a dpreview forum on a Canon camera - to trip sensor cleaning mode with lens on followed by a reset. Then I put the lens cap on, threw it out of focus, went into a dark room and shot a couple jpgs, loaded them into Lightroom and saw a ton of specks (as in closer to 100)

Did I do the test right? should I have limited the shutter speed more? I know long exposures bring out more hot pixels which are not really bad/dead/stuck pixels, but this was not that long (1/3 sec)- I thought this is more like multi second exposures that show more hot pixels. Would it matter what ISO I used?

Last edited by F8&Bthere; 10-28-2009 at 03:42 PM.
10-28-2009, 03:19 PM   #2

Original Poster