Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-02-2009, 10:44 AM   #1

Refurbed K20D won't autofocus

Hi all:

My apologies if this has been covered elsewhere on the site, I searched and didn't see anything, and the window of time I have to return this camera is closing fast, if the camera is the problem. I bought it last month when Best Buy had K20D refurbs on sale, but I didn't get a lens till a couple weeks later (I'm totally new to DSLRs and digital photography in general, just had a digital P&S prior to this).

The problem is that autofocus seems to stop working for no reason while I'm shooting. I'll take a few shots, then on the next shot, the camera seems to run the AF motor through all of the lens' AF range, then quit without focusing. The camera won't allow me to take the photo (not that I'd want to, since it's not focused). Switching to Live View mode and back again seems to fix it, so does switching from AF-Single to AF-Continuous mode and back again. Turning the camera off and on again fixes it some of the time. The lens I'm using is a brand new Pentax 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 DA AL WR. As this is a new endeavor for me I unfortunately don't have another lens I can test this with, nor do I have the knowhow to determine whether this is some problem with the camera or some user error on my part. The camera is firmware version 1.03 (it came with 1.01, I flashed it to 1.03). I'm also using a Metz 48AF-1 flash.

Any ideas?

11-02-2009, 11:08 AM   #2