Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2009, 11:42 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Why would you buy a K-x and keep your K200D?

I really like my K200D, well love it. But the higher ISO, smaller size and video capabilities are intriguing. I like to shoot a lot indoors and have some nice wide open glass for indoor shooting. I could see my wife getting into the K-x more than my K200D where, even on the green setting, she's intimidated and sticks to her Canon IS2. It just seems Pentax hit the ball so far out of the park with the K200D that I wonder if it makes sense to own both and still keep the K200D? Seems as though the K-x in terms of features is a step down. I'm no pro and shoot in jpeg mode, but wanting to get into Lightroom or PS to be able to expand into RAW. So I'm somewhere on the low end of an intermediate enthusiast I guess you'd say.

11-12-2009, 12:09 PM   #2

I am looking into buying a Pentax, Either the K200d or the K-x. I have some older Super Takumar lenses that I'll have to get an adapter for, but I would like to use them. I have an 18 month old that never stops moving, and would like to shoot some great photos both inside and outside. Will the K200d work indoors as well? Your thoughts?
11-12-2009, 12:14 PM   #3
Veteran Member

The only reason I can think of is to beat it while it's storming or raining, otherwise The K-x just kills it in every other way. Otherwise it would make a good back-up if you need one, but I don't find a back-up really necessary unless you go on a hiking/camping tour for a week straight, or you do some type of commercial/business photography where you are looking for cash such as a wedding.