Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-16-2009, 07:00 PM   #1

K20D, K7, Kx, or Lens?

Looking for real pro advise, let me start off by saying, yes money is a factor!

I'm a glamour photographer, you can see some of my work at Zenfolio | SLR Photography Sam Rambo

-I shoot with a K200D and have IST ds and K100 as backup.
-I love my hand grip battery pack
-I shoot 200 -300 shot per photo shoot

I love my lens I use for headshots, but space can be an issue for some of the more full body images. Is there a super sharp lens that would work well at 50mm I know it's not optimal, but some times you have to work with what you have.

I shoot Strobes, Low ISO, and I would like the fastest shutter speed that will still sync with my Wireless triggers.

First question: Different between the K20d, K7, and Kx

ISO? 100 or better
Max Trigger Sync Speed? 1/200? 1/160?
Shutter life? cycles?
Any known issues?

So money vs quality what is the best, if you just say K7 for no real reason, but because it is the best, I will reach through my computer and smack you silly. LOL

But I'm looking for real advise, I figure I can compensate for some of my issues on the full body/tight space by either going larger sensor, or better lens.

Give me your feedback please!

Thanks
Sam

Last edited by SLRPhotography; 11-16-2009 at 07:20 PM.
11-16-2009, 07:31 PM   #2

Original Poster
Also let me say this when I talk about issues with full body, I'm talking about things like the details in the iris of the eye, or details in the sharpness of the hair. All in small focal length situations
11-16-2009, 09:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by SLRPhotography Quote
I love my lens I use for headshots, but space can be an issue for some of the more full body images. Is there a super sharp lens that would work well at 50mm