Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2009, 03:39 PM   #1
Forum Member

What is a brand new *istD worth?

My local pro shop has an *ist D sitting in the case. Brand new, not refurbished. It, and a DA 18-55 that is mounted to it make up about 75% of their visible Pentax inventory. The owner or manager of the store told me that they are closing out their remaining Pentax gear, as they have not seen a rep in some time. He specifically told me that they could probably cut me a nice deal on the camera.

I am in the market for my first DLSR. I am open to any of Pentax's cheaper cameras, but specifically I have been eyeing K2000's since I don't think that I am the type to really take advantage of an advanced DSLR feature set, and because I am an undergraduate student on a budget

My question is: What is the above *ist worth? I would like to have a camera with a higher MP rating, but for the right price I would also be very interested in the *ist D they have. I'm not sure if they are trying to sell the zoom with the body, but what would the body be worth alone? He gave me a list price as $7xx. I think that I would have to talk them down a lot, at least in half for me to pick it up. Is this possible or advisable?

Thanks,
Jordan

11-17-2009, 03:50 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
$7xx?? That's quite high in my opinion. The *ist D was last produced in 2006 (en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentax_K10D check the bottom chart). I'm wondering how he still have so many *brand new* *ist D.

For $7xx, I would just get the Pentax K-x, which you could easily get for about $600 brand new.

If you could get it down to about $350, then I think it's not a bad deal at all, assuming that it's new and comes with the kit lens.
11-17-2009, 03:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Relatively speaking

QuoteOriginally posted by Sasquatch Quote