Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2009, 07:58 PM   #1

Just got my k-x in the mail..yahoo!!

Well when I got home from work, what did my eye behold a shipment from Newegg for my K-X was I excited ...

Of course I took it out asap stuck my brand spanking new 8gb sd card into it and began shooting with the included 18-55mm lens. But I did run into a problem I put on my SIGMA MC 100-200MM F4.5 MACRO ZOOM, PENTAX K MOUNT lens and mounted with no issue but when I tried to shoot with the lens the an F icon inside the viewfinder kept blinking and it wouldn't let me push the camera button down so I could not take any pictures with it. Does any know one know what I might be doing wrong ie. setting or switch etc that I'm not doing?!?!?

All help and input greatly appreciated... as you can tell I'm a complete NOOB to the DSLR world...

11-18-2009, 08:38 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
assuming it comes setup like the older models, you'd have to ENABLE the use of lenses without automatic aperture or whatever way they describe it...

Check in the manual for "utilizing lenses non-Av orolder than A series or however they call it..)
11-18-2009, 09:19 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Actually, instead of trying to figure out how it all all works from the manual, which doens't really clearly describe the proces,s see the sticky thread in this very forum on using manual lenses.
11-18-2009, 09:42 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

From what I am hearing, you're going to love that camera. I bought my wife the K-m about a week before they announced the K-x....but we're very happy with the K-m. Manual lenses might take a little getting used to for exposure....but it's worth it!

11-19-2009, 06:13 AM   #5

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Marc Sabatella Quote