Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2009, 08:34 AM   #16

Photos: Gallery
I have a story the OP should enjoy...

I'm a novice and haven't had a serious camera in 30yrs.. My little PnS was getting outdated and I decided it was time to get something a little more substantial.. So I started my research and no surprise had it narrowed down to the usual entry level suspects.. Ti, D5000, K-x.. after reading a ton of info I was leaning towards the K-x..

Next step.. get my hands on all of the above to see how each one "felt".. As luck would have it about this same time there was a Photo Expo in town.. what a great way to get a good look at all these cameras! right...

Well, Cannon was there.. Nikon was there.. no Pentax.. but hey one of the major Camera outlets in my area had a booth.. they should have a variety and some information.. guess what.. they wouldn't even discuss Pentax with me because Pentax wasn't at the expo.. and further more the salesmen went on about how Pentax is going under, and how they've closed down their service centers in the US so the cameras can only be supported abroad.. etc.. Had I left it at that I would have been terrified of buying Pentax..

so not only is there not enough exposure for Pentax but it seems a lot of bad information is out there as well.. also its harder to find a Pentax.. you pretty much have to set out to find one if you want to get your hands on one.. unlike Cannon/Nikon which you can find in about any store with electronics..

I agree I love my little K-x and it should be getting a lot more attention.. If they just got it out on the counters of the major retailers I think it would rival Cannon and Nikon..

12-02-2009, 08:42 AM   #17
Veteran Member