Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2009, 08:41 PM   #1

Flash compatibility

I have a K-m camera body with which I have been using lenses that I had bought for my MZ-5 film camera. This has worked out very well. I also have a AF-330FTZ flash unit which I had hoped would work with my new DSLR. However I can't figure out how to set it to work with the K-m or if it is even possible to use them together. Everything is very over exposed. It would be a shame if it didn't work - it's like new.

I've been an occasional photographer so I'm not too knowledgeable, so please answer accordingly.
Thanks,
Nick

12-05-2009, 09:06 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That flash pre-dates the P-TTL flash automation which the K-m requires if the camera is to control the flash exposure.

I don't have your particular flash but I'd speculate that you can use it with the K-m in manual flash mode, where you use the guide number of the flash to figure the settings. Your K-m should be in M exposure mode. Unfortunately your flash doesn't have the autoflash mode which would allow the flash to set the correct exposure.

I assume that you still have the flash manual, otherwise PM me your e-mail adddress and I can send it as a pdf file.

Last edited by Ole; 12-05-2009 at 09:13 PM.
12-05-2009, 10:01 PM   #3

Original Poster
Hi Ole,
Thanks for your reply.
This flash has TTL but not P-TTL. I guess that is not good enough?
I have the manual, which has the guide numbers. However that will not allow for very spontaneous photography!
Thanks,
Nick
12-05-2009, 10:38 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by nscott Quote
Hi Ole,
Thanks for your reply.
This flash has TTL but not P-TTL. I guess that is not good enough?
I have the manual, which has the guide numbers. However that will not allow for very spontaneous photography!
Thanks,
Nick