Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2009, 06:35 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
how fast a memory card do I need for a k-x?

Greetings folks,

I apologize if this is a FAQ, but I have searched the forums and not found any conclusive answers. I'm about to join the brave new world (to me) of DSLRs, with a brand new (black) k-x on its way. The choice of brand was pretty easy, as I have an MX that was my grandfather's, along with some manual glass, including a Pentax-M 1.7 50MM that I'm looking forward to playing with. At any rate, I'm not sure what speed sdhc card to get for the k-x - is the answer "the faster the better", in which case the sandisk extreme III would be the way to go?

Thanks for any help, and please go easy on the n00b

12-08-2009, 06:42 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
I'm not an expert, but I would get the fastest within reasonable price that you are willing to pay for. If that card is too fast, then your camera will still work with it (at a slower speed) and you can always use it in future camera where the demand for speed is higher. If the card is too slow, well then you better be more willing to fork out more $.

With that said, I am using class 2, class 4, and class 6 SDHC cards. I couldn't really tell if there is any speed advantage between one versus another. I would get a class 6 SDHC card as an 8GB would cost you less than $20 on newegg.com
12-08-2009, 06:46 AM   #3
Veteran Member

yep, a class 6 from newegg.com will serve you just fine (newegg is completely reputable and easily the best value online for most computer/memory and other electronics) - transcend is a good value, patriot, a-data, sandisk are all the big names that I have used and are reliable as well.
12-08-2009, 07:14 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
thanks much for the help to both of you - so is a class 2 fast enough for shooting video?

12-08-2009, 07:32 AM   #5
Forum Member