Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-11-2009, 08:34 PM   #1

New guy - help me spend budget wisely

First, I hope you will forgive my ignorance. I am new to the world or "real" photography having always carried around a pocket-sized point and shoot.

Here's my situation -- I have been a deer hunter all my life and with every year that goes by I find myself less consumed with shooting something and more fascinated with the scenes around me as I sit in a blind - sunrises and sunsets, birds of every description, foxes and bobcats and turkeys and owls and quail and ...

Long story short – I am trying to sell one of my guns so I can buy a "starter" DSLR body and lens. I have a line on an almost-mint K10 body for $425. Feel kinda OK about that. Where I get totally lost is on the lens. The one I have my eye on is the SMC DA 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED - "demo" for $260. Would that be sufficient to capture deer, varmints, etc at a range of 25-75 yards given sufficient light and a tripod?

Geez, just trying to phrase the question I realize how much I don't know.

Let me ask it this way: if you had a max total budget of $750 and were willing to shop hard and buy used, what body and lens would you buy for the above-described situation?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

12-12-2009, 12:35 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hello Steve (twice?)