Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-11-2009, 09:24 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
RAW or JPEG

im new to digital photography, well digital anything really and my husband just bought me a new white K-x which im loving but i dont know what RAW format or JPEG format means and when i want to use which one or why, can anyone help me?

12-11-2009, 09:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Welcome! Quite honestly this is the most asked question on any camera forum, and there is lots and lots written about it.

If you are new to digital, stick with jpeg. When you get into digital photography more, and you want to do advanced postprocessing on the computer, then RAW is the way to go.

Bottom line is simply that RAW retains more information so you have more options in postprocessing. The problem is that you must postprocess it if you want to see your pictures on any computer.
12-11-2009, 09:53 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
so Jpeg is like a polariod camera and raw would be developing the film yourself?
12-11-2009, 10:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tkcampbell Quote
so Jpeg is like a polariod camera and raw would be developing the film yourself?
Very good analogy, except that jpeg from your camera is much better than polaroid. Just keep it on high quality jpeg mode and you may never have the desire or need to go to RAW.

12-11-2009, 10:08 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Also, that analogy makes RAW sound like a lot more work, when it really isn't. in anyhow, I highly recommend Google. It can tell you a lot about basic things like this.
12-11-2009, 10:15 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Marc,
I think it actually might be a lot of work for someone who is "new to anything digital." With jpeg, she can just drag and drop, and enjoy the pictures. No need for "workflow."
12-11-2009, 10:29 PM   #7
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums