Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2009, 04:56 AM   #1
Veteran Member

a new kx body or a used k20 with lenses?

Hi all
A newbie here! but i have spent some time perusing the forum and have totally confused myself!
I am in the market for a new/used camera and cant make a decision! I have been using a mz50 for yonks but need to move into the digital area So I have basic kit lenses ( sigma ) some older pentax lenses ( they were my dads ) and heaps of nice little filters, flashes and most of the other gear I need. I also have a small studio set up which will take a wireless flash kit.
but I cant decide which way to go!
I can pick up a kx body for around $700 au ( those red ones are snazzy!) or would I get more bang for my buck with a used/ebay k20/k10. I realise it wouldnt have warrenty!
The ebay jobs go for pretty big prices over here (Oz)............
I did use a Cannon something last night and it seemed very heavy and clunky in my smaller hands..........maybe just compared to the mz50 or maybe just a girl thing.
I will have to buy online sight unseen............I live way out in the scrub with nary a camera shop in site!
Hoping someone has some advice!
cheers
Jan

12-14-2009, 07:25 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Since you have some lenses already, go with the new K-x.

1. It's better in my opinion
2. Not knocking sellers on Ebay, but you will be getting your K-x from a known reputable seller (whoever your distrubitor is in Au).
3. You have a warranty for the peace of mind.

However, if you feel that you really need the weather resistance feature, then get the K20/K10 if the included lens is also weather resistance. It seems that you do not really need this feature since you have a small studio.

P.S. Invest in a decent charger and Eneloops (I love my Eneloops)
12-14-2009, 07:50 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you want to take photos of things moving in dimly lit places, get the K-x.