Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-17-2009, 04:31 PM   #1

K2000

Well, first let me introduce myself: Im Duane and Ive been shooting for 25+ years. I live in Northern Maine, USA and shoot every day, usually a couple hundred pics anyway. Landscape, macro and portraits are my favorite. I also like oversaturated HDR stuff.

So anyway.....I just picked up a K2000 with the kit smc 18-55 dal. Im not impressed with the lens at all. Bokeh is almost non existent unless certain conditions are present (which they rarely are). I know its a kit lens and I wasnt expecting the world, but Im not happy with it at all and dont find it useful for what I shoot. What would be a good portrait/macro lens that gives great bokeh without breaking my wallet?

Also, Id like to try shooting some star trails over the holiday: Anyone have any advice for using this set up for long exposures? Im wondering how long my batteries will last if I set it on bulb mode and let it run forever. Also, in a very dark area, what would be a good setting, i.e., f-stop, length of exposure, etc. Thanks in advance, Duane

Last edited by Duane; 12-17-2009 at 04:34 PM. Reason: added more
12-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You expected the kit lens to create beautiful bokeh easily?

Well, the speed and the range works against the kit lens, but it isn't hard to set up a situation where you can have bokeh on the kit lens once you take into account depth of field and perspective distortion.

Keep in mind, most kit lenses are pretty much the same in terms of speed and range, so the bokeh ability is pretty much the same. But with its sharpness and IQ it should be pretty great at landscape, hdr, and pseudo-macros.