Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-20-2009, 07:19 PM   #1

Please need help with my new k-x

Hi,

I am new to the Pentax world, and today I bought a k-x.
Coming from Olympus, I have a bunch of strobist equipment I used with my Oly gear. I have a couple of SB-20's and a couple of Sunpaks used in manual mode.

Here's the problem.

In MANUAL mode, I can't get the external flash to fire.
I have the PT-04 chinese wireless trigger (with 4 receivers) that worked very well with my Olympus camera. When installed on the hot shoe of my new k-x, it will fire in all modes EXCEPT MANUAL mode
I makes no sense to me. Why would it fire in Aperture priority mode and keep the shutter open long after the flash was triggered blurring my image. And, of course, I can't change the shutter speed in A mode. When it fires in the sutter priority mode, I can set it to the max sync speed of 180 (200 actually) but then my aperture setting is screwed up and I get blown images.

Did I miss some setting somewhere? I hope that's it 'cause otherwise it will be a bummer and I will have to return the camera.

I hope someone will enlightned me. Thank you.

12-20-2009, 08:08 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Hello,

I know I took some pics the other day using my pt-04 w/ the k-x and all was well but I wasn't sure what settings I had used. So I just tossed it on my cam and used my Pentax flash af360 and fired off 3 test shots and the flash fired every time. I remember I was having some diffuculty a while back and I found that I had not tightened the transmitter tight enough to the body. Flash mode was manual discharge...

I don't know what else to suggest... all I know is mine works w/ the pt-04.

Good luck!
12-20-2009, 08:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by moSIN Quote
Hi,
I makes no sense to me. Why would it fire in Aperture priority mode and keep the shutter open long after the flash was triggered blurring my image.