Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2009, 04:30 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
K10, K20, K7 Which is the best performer with old MF Lenses

Hi all,

I have a lot of old legacy Pentax manual focus lenses so how well a camera performs with this older glass is important to me. As my signature idicates they include a number of K, M and A series lenses. I would estmate over 90% of my shots are taken with these older lenses. I have been using a K10 for three years now and I have been very impressed with it for the most part. Like everyone else I would prefer better performance at higher ISO levels. The K10 is pretty weak IMO over ISO 400. I understand the K20 and K7 are much better in this regard.

I am drawn to the K20 for its larger sensor and the fact I can use the same battery grip and KatzEye focusing screen from my K10. I know little of the K7 and I am curious, given my lens collection, if it would be a better fit for me than the K20. Video capeability is of no interest to me at all. Thoughts?

Tom G

12-27-2009, 04:34 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by 8540tomg Quote
Hi all,

I have a lot of old legacy Pentax manual focus lenses so how well a camera performs with this older glass is important to me. As my signature idicates they include a number of K, M and A series lenses. I would estmate over 90% of my shots are taken with these older lenses. I have been using a K10 for three years now and I have been very impressed with it for the most part. Like everyone else I would prefer better performance at higher ISO levels. The K10 is pretty weak IMO over ISO 400. I understand the K20 and K7 are much better in this regard.