Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2010, 09:37 AM   #91
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Whoo ...long thread but i follow this rule of thumb RAW for big prints 30x40 + JPGs for everything else. This is why some manufacturers put dual card slots in their "mortgage your house" cameras

This is one of those discussions for a meet.

01-02-2010, 10:27 AM   #92
Inactive Account

Doing HDR with jpegs equals shooting one's own leg. Same with exposure fusion. 16bit TIFFs are good for fusion if the camera can spit them out.
01-02-2010, 11:10 AM   #93
Veteran Member

I have been shooting Jpeg from the get-go and my reasoning is.......my "eye" will develope to the point of knowing what settings to use in different conditions. I will get some so-so images along the way but I think it will pay off in the long run.
01-02-2010, 12:37 PM   #94

Very interesting thread.

I'm an old film photographer, and have just gotten into DSLR's with my K20. I have been shooting jpegs, and only experimented a little with the raw settings. I really didnt see much difference, and the raw seemed to take longer for the camera to save.

But I'd like to get as much out of my photos as possible, so I was wondering if anyone could post some examples (of the same photo), where a pic could be saved or made better in processing a raw photo, but the same results couldnt be achieved through jpeg processing. Trying to see differences in two completely different photos of two wildly different subjects just doesnt give me what I need to make a decision.

Also, are any of the mentioned raw processing tools free, or do they have to be purchased?

01-02-2010, 12:47 PM   #95
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jeryst Quote
Very interesting thread.