Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2007, 08:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
noob questions...

Hi, newbie here... I recently got a K100d and have a couple of noob questions...

1. Can I leave the Shake Reduction switch on all the time? If not, when should I use it? And what happens if I just leave it on all the time?

2. How come I don't see much difference with the SR on? What should the situation be for me to properly use it?

Thanks!

06-20-2007, 08:33 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Wait till about 4pm when the lights get low, attach the kit lens and take a photo in TV mode setting a Shutter Speed of 1/10 with SR turned off. Next take the same photo with the same settings with SR on. Look at your results on a computer monitor and then you'll know exactly why that switch exists.

Tim H
06-20-2007, 08:40 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by leadbelly Quote
1. Can I leave the Shake Reduction switch on all the time? If not, when should I use it? And what happens if I just leave it on all the time?
Pretty much yes you can leave it on all the time. You should turn it off if the camera is on a tripod.

Additionally, there have been some comments that at very high shutter speeds, the SR can actually make things worse. (That isn't my experience, though -- YMMV.) If your shutter speed is relatively high (see rule of thumb below), there's at the very least not much need for it.

Having it on probably has a negative impact on battery life, too, although I leave it on all the time and am perfectly happy with the number of shots I'm getting.

QuoteQuote:
2. How come I don't see much difference with the SR on? What should the situation be for me to properly use it?