Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2010, 09:00 PM   #1

Pentax ist-DS upgrade advice

Hi,

I currently have a Pentax 6mp ist-DS that I have been extremely happy with. However, I am looking to upgrade to a higher MP, better sensor/ISO performing, faster Pentax DSLR. It has been so many years since I looked at DSLRs, I am looking for some upgrade path advice as to which current model is the most direct upgrade path from the ist-DS. I love the mixture of auto-modes with the manual stuff when I want/need it.

In my research to this point, it looks like the K-x is the logical upgrade... but then I see the K200D and even the K-7 (which may simply be too much camera). It appears, from my research, that neither the K-x or the K200 use a Pentaprism viewfinder like the ist-DS... does this really matter?

Can anyone please give me some logical upgrade suggestions? I don't want to get a new camera that is too much for me. I am an amateur photographer who takes mostly landscape/nature/macro and photos of my little kids. The video features of the K-x/K-7 are nice bonuses, but by no means necessary.

Thanks in advance.

01-08-2010, 10:34 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.

For some the pentaprism matters a lot, others not so much.
It does give a significant difference to what you see through the viewfinder.
In this regard, I'd include the K20D in the mix of options, of course with the K-7 (for more pro features) and K-x (for high ISO performance) on the top of the list.
You will appreciate the pro body feel and feature lines of the K20D/K-7 but should feel right at home with the K-x coming from the *ist DS.

What you'll lose of course is TTL metering with any camera you choose.
Enjoy shopping around...
01-09-2010, 10:44 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery