Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2010, 05:00 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
K200D Accolations, Just Gotta Say It

This is just a plain great camera and value! I'm new to DSLR and Pentax and bought my first DSLR, a 200D re-furb, a few months ago. The solid feel, ergonomics, and handlling all make it a dream to use. I even bought a second body for a song at Overstock auctions. It's supposedly a re-furb but I swear it looks and is packaged as new. I just like having two of the same bodies to become familiar with and operate from.

I know it's not the highest MP count, or most frames per second, etc., but for my shooting this is a great camera. Tactile characteristics are important to me, and get me to shoot more, and a higher MP camera that doesn't feel right won't get me shootin', and what good is that?

I have a modest three lens kit I can now build on with the value from this camera.

I'm no expert or pro like many on the forum, although I have worked in a large camera store and had Nikon and Cannon film systems, and I think the K200D simply rocks and plan to use it (them) for many captures and on many trips.

There, I said it. I'm sure others out there are enjoying their 200Ds too.

01-09-2010, 08:29 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Ditto

Call me a fanboy if you like. Got my K200D refurb in October. (Given the loyalty of other members here for the K20D, I've had a few mild pangs of regret that I didn't keep the as-new K20D refurb that I ordered at the same time. Really though, too bulky for me.)

...yet the K200D is a huge upgrade from my unloved, and now sold, Can*n 350D. The first week the Pentax arrived I did an available-light shoot for a major event with my one lens, a Pentax 18-250. The results were good enough to publish in a photobook for the honoree. The Can*n was along that day too, for insurance. Crappy results compared to the K200D. Bye bye Can*n.